Michigan DUI Charges

A Michigan drunk driving charge is a very serious charge with long term consequences, and you should hire a professional lawyer who exclusively handles DUI cases to help you. Because we dedicate our practice to defending these cases, our firm is in a better position to help you reduce any possible ramifications and possibly challenge the case.

Even a first time offender faces serious consequences. In addition to costing a lot of money in the local court, a convicted drunk driver faces license sanctions, increased automobile insurance rates, and a litany of probation, work force programs, and monitoring. A period of incarceration is also possible in some courts. A drunk driving conviction also carries a stigma that concerns many employers.

Repeat offenders face far more dire consequences that include permanent loss of driving privileges, significant periods of incarceration, and even a felony record in some cases.

Possible Penalties for a First Time Offender

If you are charged with a first time Michigan drunk driving offense, here is a brief summary of what you face:

1st Offense to High BAC Operating While Intoxicated (Over .17 BAC)
-- 1 year suspended license, restricted driving permitted after 45 days with Interlock device, plus $125 reinstatement fee
-- Up to 180 days in jail
-- Six points on the driver's record
-- Fines of at least $200 up to $700, plus court costs
-- Probation up to 2 years, including oversight fees and must include at least 1 year alcohol treatment program or a self-help program
-- Up to 360 hours community service
-- $1,000.00 "driver responsibility fee" to secretary of state for two years
1st Offense to Operating While Intoxicated (Michigan's DUI statute)
-- 30 days suspended license/150 days restricted license (automatic), plus $125 reinstatement fee
-- Up to 93 days in jail
-- Six points on the driver's record
-- Fines of at least $100 up to $500, plus court costs
-- Probation up to 2 years, including oversight fees and may include chemical testing, AA, and substance abuse counseling
-- Up to 360 hours community service
-- $1,000.00 "driver responsibility fee" to secretary of state for two years
1st Offense to Operating While Visibly Impaired (The so-called lesser included offense to a Michigan DUI)
-- 90 days restricted license (automatic)
-- Up to 93 days in jail
-- Four points on the driver's record
-- Fines of up to $300, plus court costs
-- Probation up to 2 years, including oversight fees and may include chemical testing, AA, and substance abuse counseling
-- Up to 360 hours community service
-- $500.00 "driver responsibility fee" to secretary of state for two years

In addition to the above penalties, individual insurance companies take independent action against their insured that can include an increase in insurance rates and/or cancellation of the policy. Doctors, lawyers and other regulated professionals are required to report the conviction to a professional board. A person who holds a CDL loses that endorsement for at least one year.


| Michigan Drunk Driving Penalties | A Strong Defense to a Michigan DUI | Experience Handling DUI Cases | Trying Cases to Win | Home |